Rohit, Ravindra & Raina rout England to clinch series

Posted on Jan 24, 2013 by Rohit Sachdeva, Taakjhaak Editorial

With heavy mist at Mohali the 4th ODI between England and India took centre stage with India dropping Rahane for Rohit Sharma. Some sloppy umpiring, some missed chances by the Englishmen, Raina’s dozen times diving in the crease, Finn’s stump kicking habit and an Indian win by 5 wickets, PCA scribed first series win for India in 2013.

India vs England 2013 at MohaliEngland accepted the batting invitation and was steady in progress on a pitch that had something for the seamers too. Cook and Pietersen topped the scorecard with 76 each but the 21 year old new Englishmen on the blocks Joe Roots smacked 57 off 45 balls and England managed to score 100+ runs in the last 10 overs to finish with 257 for 7 wickets. Ravindra Jadeja was the pick of Indian bowlers with 3 wickets whereas Ishant and Ashwin took 2 each. B.Kumar was unlucky to be wicket less but was accurate first up.

Gambhir had a new partner Rohit Sharma but the more experienced Delhite opener Gambhir perished to Bresnan with Indian 20 for 1. Kohli and Sharma piled on a 50 run stand before Kohli was dismissed softly. Local hero Yuvraj was out 4th time to Tredwell in the series, India 90 for 3 and the match wide open. Meanwhile Rohit reached his 50 and with Raina, both toiled the middle overs. Sharma was out for 83 whereas Man of the Match Raina stayed unbeaten on 89*. India got over the line with 15 balls and 5 wickets to spare. Tredwell took 2 wickets but India won the 5 match series by 3-1, with the last encounter scheduled at Dharmasala on 27th January, a dead rubber really.

Author’s Lol-o-scope: Fb post read,” NASA should stop searching water on Mars instead find relevant reasons for Rohit Sharma’s performance”…Lol…!

you might.. 
Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>